User menu

Trial Skills Section

Trial Skills Section

The Trial Skills Section is devoted to the art, science and practice of trial advocacy. The Section promotes the continuing advancement of trial skills of members of the legal community by the open exchange of ideas, continuing legal education, communication between the bar and bench, and the mutual respect and collegiality between members of the bar.

Section Meetings:

The Trial Skills Section generally meets at the Belo on the second Friday of each month for CLE presentations, which are free to our members. 


DBA Trial Academy

The Trial Academy is a hands-on civil trial skills training program intended to improve advocacy skills for solo and small firm lawyers licensed five years or less through a combination of lectures and demonstrations by seasoned attorneys and live exercises by participants. It is jointly sponsored by the Trial Skills Section and the Morris Harrell Professionalism Committee. Questions? Contact Kathryn Zack.


Section News:

                                 

 

TRIAL SKILLS SECTION

MAY 11, 2018   BELO MANSION

NOON - 1:00 PM

"Tips for a Trial Lawyer from Abraham Lincoln"

Speaker: Talmage Boston

Shackleford,Bowen, McKinley & Norton, LLP

MCLE  1.00 HOUR

 


Section Officers:

Name: Mary Scott
Officer Position: Chair
Firm: Spencer Scott pllc
Firm Address: 5420 LBJ Freeway, Ste. 300
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75240
Business Phone: 972.458.5302
Email: mscott@spencerscottlaw.com

Name: Shonn Brown
Officer Position: Vice Chair
Firm: Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst
Firm Address: 2100 Ross Avenue, Ste. 2700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214-981-3807
Email: sbrown@lynnllp.com

Name: Edwin Krieger
Officer Position: Secretary
Firm: Wormington & Bollinger
Firm Address: 212 E. Virginia St.
Firm City, State, Zip: McKinney, TX 75069
Business Phone: 972-569-3930
Email: edwin@wormingtonlegal.com

Name: Brian Lauten
Officer Position: Treasurer
Firm: Deans & Lyons, LLP
Firm Address: 325 N Saint Paul St Ste 1500
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.965.8500
Email: blauten@deanslyons.com

Name: David Kent
Officer Position: Immediate Past Chair
Company: Drinker Biddle & Reath
Company Address: 1717 Main Street, Ste. 5400
Company City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 469-357-2535
Email: david.kent@dbr.com

Name: Natalie Arbaugh
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Fish & Richardson, P.C.
Firm Address: 1717 Main Street, Suite 5000
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.747.5070
Email: arbaugh@fr.com

Name: Quentin Brogdon
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Crain Lewis Brogdon, LLP
Firm Address: 3400 Carlisle St., Suite 200
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75204
Business Phone: 214.522.9404
Email: qbrogdon@crainlewis.com

Name: Michael Hurst
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst, LLP
Firm Address: 2100 Ross Avenue, Suite 2700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.981.3800
Email: mhurst@lynnllp.com

Name: Bill Mateja
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Polsinelli PC
Firm Address: 2950 N. Harwood Street, Ste. 52100
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214-754-5751
Email: mateja@polsinelli.com

Name: Judge Irma Ramirez
Officer Position: Director
Firm: U.S. Magistrate Judge
Firm Address: 1100 Commerece St., Suite 1567
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75242
Business Phone: 214.753.2393
​Email: judge_ramirez@txnd.uscourts.gov

Name: Britta Stanton
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst, LLP
Firm Address: 2100 Ross Ave Ste 2700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.981.3800
​Email: bstanton@lynnllp.com

Name: Amy Stewart
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Amy Stewart PC
Firm Address: 5307 E. Mockingbird Lane, Suite 475
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75206
Business Phone: 214.233.7076
Email: amy@amystewartlaw.com

Name: Victor Vital
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Firm Address: 2100 McKinney Avenue, Suite 1250
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.593.7136
Email: victor.vital@btlaw.com

Name: Fred Moss
Officer Position: Director
Firm: SMU Dedman School of Law
Firm Address: 3315 Daniel Ave
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75205
Business Phone: 214.768.2000
​Email: fmoss@mail.smu.edu

Name: Messina Madson
Officer Position: Director
Firm: Madson Castello, PLLC
Firm Address: 8150 N. Central Expy Ste M2070
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75206
Business Phone: 214.301.4444
​Email: messina@madsoncastello.com

Name: Jonathan Childers 
Officer Position: Board Advisor
Firm: Lynn Pinker Cox & Hurst, LLP
Firm Address: 2100 Ross Avenue, Ste. 2700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75201
Business Phone: 214.981.3810
Email: rltobey@johnstontobey.com


Resource Links

 


Section Membership

 

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Trial Skills Section, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $25.00 membership fee to:
DBA
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


 

Section Downloads:

Back to Top