User menu

Energy Law Section

Provides a forum for energy practitioners to meet, network, and to study topical issues in the industry. The Section meets monthly on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at the Belo for lunch and a CLE lecture by an energy attorney or other relevant energy professional. Annually, the Section sponsors a two-day, in-depth seminar on a Thursday and Friday in the Fall that attracts energy attorneys from all regions of Texas and surrounding states.

Meeting Schedule:



March 15, 2017 Speaker & Topic: 


"All QCDs - No BFPs"

Examiners must appreciate that the party they determine owns property has record/apparent title, but is not a bona fide purchaser for value (BFP), the gold standard for title. Mr. George Snell is providing insight to alert the industry on this point and solicit support for a legislative change.

George Snell 


April 19, 2017 Speaker & Topic: 


"Energy Pipelines, the Trump Administration, & the Courts: New Policies & New Challenges"

Professor Coleman will discuss recent legal developments concerning the Dakota Access and Keystone XL oil pipelines, and he will present his research on increased scrutiny and legal challenges for pipeline approvals.

Professor James Coleman, SMU Dedman School of Law



May 17, 2017 Speaker & Topic: 


"Texas Oil & Gas Cases to Watch in 2017"

Through the ups and downs of the oil and gas industry, several cases have made their way through the Texas courts.  This presentation will provide an overview of various pending and/or recent oil and gas cases to be aware of in 2017.

Chris Halgren and Austin W. Brister



June 21, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD


July 19, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD


Review of Oil & Gas Law

**Thursday & Friday, August 10-11, 2017**
Belo Mansion
Program information can be found at
or questions email Sandi Anderson at or Collin Lensing at 


September 20, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD

October 18, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD

November 15, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD

December 20, 2017 Speaker & Topic: TBD


Section News: 


We have Course Materials available from the 2016 Annual Review of Oil & Gas Law.  If you are interested in purchasing a copy, please email Sandra Anderson at

Section Officers:

Name: Jordyn Christian-Gingras
Officer: Chair
Firm: JCG Legal Group, PLLC
Firm Address: 211 N. Ervay, Suite 400
Firm City: Dallas, Texas
Business Phone: (817) 279-3446

Name: David Ammons
Officer Position: Vice-Chair
Firm: Winstead PC
Firm Address: 600 Travis Street, Ste. 1100
Firm City, State, Zip: Houston, TX 77002
Business Phone: (713) 650-2692

Name: Collin Lensing
Officer Position: Secretary                       
Company: Vendera Resources
Address: 2602 McKinney Ave, Suite 200
City, Address, Zip: Dallas, TX 75204
Business Phone: (469) 206-0020

Name: E. Foster Green
Officer Position: Treasurer
Firm: Freeman Mills PC
Firm Address: 4925 Greenville Ave. | Suite 1450 |
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75206
Business Phone: (214)800-5191

Name: Michael C. Frye
Officer: Communication & Sponsorship Chair
Employer: Rosewood Resources
Address: 2101 Cedar Springs Rd., Suite 1500
City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75201
Business Phone: (214) 849-9392

Name: Michael R. Goldman
Officer Position: Immediate Past Chair
Firm: Goldman Law, PC
Firm Address: One Energy Square, 4925 Greenville Avenue, Suite 200
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, Texas 75206
Business Phone: (972) 850-8490

Name: Aaron Tobin
Officer Position: Board Advisor
Firm: Condon Tobin Sladek Thornton
Firm Address: 8080 Park Lane, Suite 700
Firm City, State, Zip: Dallas, TX 75231
Business Phone: 214-265-3851

Resource Links


Section Membership


If you are interested in becoming a member of the Energy Law Section, please click here to join online or send a letter of request and the $25.00 membership fee to:
2101 Ross Ave
Dallas TX, 75201
Please note that you must be a member of the Dallas Bar Association to join a section. If you have any questions regarding sections membership, please contact the DBA membership department.

Section Admin-Mass E-mail/Roster

Section Admin-Webpage

For questions regarding Section email/roster/webpage, email Jessica Smith or call 214-220-7477.  


Section Downloads:


Back to Top